Employers' Corner


A new basis for recruiting the most suitable person for the job.


From 2012, you will be seeing more and more candidates with a new qualification- the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education

How to interpret the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education?
Under the New Academic Structure, the first Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) Examination was administered in 2012. A Standards-referenced Reporting system is adopted to report candidate's performance and replace Grades A to F. In the HKDSE Examination, student performance is reported in five levels (Levels 1 to 5), with 5 being the highest. The top Level 5 candidates with the best performance will be awarded a 5**, and the next top group awarded a 5*. Each level of Levels 1 to 5 is accompanied by descriptors and exemplars (i.e. examples) that describe the performance of a typical candidate at a given level. Results of candidates will not be affected by the performance of other candidates taking the same examination and there is no longer pass/fail level.

What are the qualities expected of the graduates under the New Academic Structure?
The graduates are expected to have acquired lifelong learning capabilities including generic skills such as critical and creative thinking, as well as inter-personal skills. This results from learning under the New Academic Structure which offers a broader and more balanced curriculum; diversified learning opportunities, and a widened exposure for whole-person development. The curriculum breaks the barrier of traditional arts and science streaming with greater flexibility in choices of combination of subjects. The core subject of Liberal Studies broadens the knowledge base of students and enhances their social, national and global awareness as well as develops their multi-perspective and critical thinking skills through the study of a wide range of issues.

How to recruit the most suitable person for the job?
Employers could refer to the level descriptors of what students could do in order to decide on the level required for different jobs, then match with the levels students have attained in various subjects and study their Student Learning Profiles to select the suitable candidates.

New Academic Structure and Senior Secondary Curriculum


Introduction of the New Academic Structure
       
Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE)


Brief Introduction of the HKDSE
Subject Information and Sample Papers of the HKDSE
The Reporting System
Recognition of HKDSE
FAQs on the Recognition of the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) and Multiple Pathways of Students
       
Implications of the Implementation of New Academic Structure on recruitment


Civil Service Entry Requirements
       
Multiple Pathways for Senior Secondary Graduates


Multiple Pathways for Senior Secondary Graduates
       
Public Activities for Employers


Public Activities for Employers
 
Other Information for Employers


Video on “New Milestone of Senior Secondary Education” (2016)
Video on “Multiple Pathways to success, there is always one for you.” (2016)
Employers' Fact Sheet (Feb 2016 Version)
Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education – Employers' Recognition
RTHK Programme: "A new basis for recruiting the best person for the job"

新學制網上簡報 > 僱主專區

僱主專區


物色人才新方向


2012年起,你會見到求職者拿著一份新資歷 --- 香港中學文憑

怎樣解讀香港中學文憑?
在新學制下,第一屆香港中學文憑考試已於2012年舉行,並採用水平參照模式匯報考生成績,以1至5級取代現時A至F級的制度,第5級為最高等級。在考獲第5級的考生中,表現最優異的,其成績將以「**」標示,隨後表現較佳的則以「*」標示。1至5級的每個等級均附有等級描述示例 (即例子),以說明達到該等級的考生的一般知識水平和能力。考生的成績不會受同一次考試的其他考生的表現所影響,亦再沒有分合格或不合格。

新學制的畢業生有甚麼特質?
我們期望新學制的畢業生會具備終身學習的能力,包括創造力、批判性思考能力及溝通能力,因為他們受育於新學制下寬廣而均衡的課程,並有多元化的學習機會和全人發展的體驗。課程打破傳統的文理分流,讓學生修讀的科目組合有更大彈性,並加入了通識教育科作為核心科目,透過探究不同議題擴闊學生的知識基礎,加強學生對社會、國家及世界環境的觸覺,培養多角度及批判性思考的能力。

如何聘請合適的員工?
僱主可參照等級描述以理解每級所顯示的學生能力水平,就不同工作崗位的要求訂定入職的等級要求,繼而比對學生在不同科目達到的等級和參考他們的學生學習概覽,以聘請合適的僱員。

新學制及高中課程


新學制簡介
       
香港中學文憑


香港中學文憑簡介
香港中學文憑的科目資訊
成績匯報制度
香港中學文憑國際認可
有關「香港中學文憑」認可及學生出路的常見問題
       
實施新學制對招聘的影響


公務員入職要求
       
高中畢業生多元出路


高中畢業生多元出路
       
為僱主舉辦的公開活動


為僱主舉辦的公開活動
 
給僱主的資訊


「高中教育新里程」宣傳片 (2016)
「開拓多元進出路徑-條條大路通羅馬」宣傳片 (2016)
僱主便覽 (2016年2月版)
新學制‧新文憑‧物色人才新方向
香港電台節目﹕「新學制‧物色人才新方向」